Virginia rental property owners, landlords and property managers need to use rental agreements and legal notices to follow the Virginia landlord tenant laws. A free, state-specific Virginia lease is included in your ARPOLA membership along with the Virginia legal notices and forms you will use most often. Should you decide to use a different lease, listed below are terms and conditions you should include to help you meet the minimum requirements.
NOTICE PERIOD TO TERMINATE TENANCY:
RENT INCREASE NOTICE:
No statutory limit, but landlord must abide by provisions in lease and tenant must consent in writing to any change
SECURITY DEPOSIT LIMITS:
2 months’ rent
NOTICE PERIOD FOR TERMINATION FOR NONPAYMENT:
5 days; tenant who pays rent, cost, interest and reasonable attorney fees can stay but may only invoke this right once in a 12 month period of time
NOTICE PERIOD FOR TERMINATION FOR LEASE VIOLATION:
21 days to cure, additional 9 days to quit
NOTICE FOR UNCONDITIONAL QUIT:
30 days—repeated violation of lease terms
Immediately—breach of lease that is a willful or criminal act, is non- remediable and is a threat to health and safety
No statutory limit
Information Current as of 07/2011
How Can Becoming an ARPOLA Member Help You With Lease Clauses?
- Save money. Buying a state lease from most associations costs $15.95 or more plus most landlords and rental property owners often need additional legal forms that can be $9.95 each.
- Legal Leases and Notices. ARPOLA’s free rental agreements are developed and maintained by US Legal Forms attorneys.
- Save time. No need to search for the best lease at a low price. Join ARPOLA and have complete access to leases for all 50 states that can be edited in Word.
- Join and renew once per year. No need to pay for any leases or per use. Download any lease in any state–it’s included in your membership dues.