Texas rental property owners, landlords and property managers need to use rental agreements and legal notices to follow the Texas landlord tenant laws. A free, state-specific Texas lease is included in your ARPOLA membership along with the Texas legal notices and forms you will use most often. Should you decide to use a different lease, listed below are terms and conditions you should include to help you meet the minimum requirements.
NOTICE TO CHANGE OR TERMINATE A MONTH TO MONTH TENANCY:
One month. Landlord and tenant can jointly agree in writing upon different terms or none at all
SECURITY DEPOSIT LIMIT:
No statutory limit
NOTICE PERIOD FOR TERMINATION FOR NONPAYMENT:
3 days’ notice to move unless the lease specifies a shorter or longer time
NOTICE PERIOD FOR TERMINATION FOR LEASE VIOLATION:
Landlord can terminate with an Unconditional Quit notice
NOTICE FOR UNCONDITIONAL QUIT:
3 days for nonpayment of rent or holdover
Late fee provision must be in written lease and cannot be imposed until the rent remains unpaid for one full day after it is due. May charge an initial fee and daily fee for each day late, but must be a reasonable estimate of damages or a precise calculation
Information current as of 02/2012
How Can Becoming an ARPOLA Member Help You With Lease Clauses?
- Save money. Buying a state lease from most associations costs $15.95 or more plus most landlords and rental property owners often need additional legal forms that can be $9.95 each.
- Legal Leases and Notices. ARPOLA’s free rental agreements are developed and maintained by US Legal Forms attorneys.
- Save time. No need to search for the best lease at a low price. Join ARPOLA and have complete access to leases for all 50 states that can be edited in Word.
- Join and renew once per year. No need to pay for any leases or per use. Download any lease in any state–it’s included in your membership dues.