Rhode Island rental property owners, landlords and property managers need to use rental agreements and legal notices to follow the Rhode Island landlord tenant laws. A free, state-specific Rhode Island lease is included in your ARPOLA membership along with the Rhode Island legal notices and forms you will use most often. Should you decide to use a different lease, listed below are terms and conditions you should include to help you meet the minimum requirements.
NOTICE PERIOD TO TERMINATE TENANCY:
RENT INCREASE NOTICE:
SECURITY DEPOSIT LIMITS:
One months’ rent
NOTICE PERIOD FOR TERMINATION FOR NONPAYMENT:
Landlord must wait 15 days before giving notice
Tenant has 5 days to pay back rent prior to commencement of suit
If the tenant has not received a pay or quit notice in the past 6 months the tenant has the right to stay if the pay all back rent and costs prior to eviction hearing
NOTICE PERIOD FOR TERMINATION FOR LEASE VIOLATION:
20 days for material noncompliance
NOTICE FOR UNCONDITIONAL QUIT:
20 days—repeating the act which violate lease terms or threatens the health and safety , within a 6 month period of time (must be given notice of first offense)
Immediately—tenant possesses, sells, uses illegal drugs or commits violent acts or crimes on the property or adjacent property or if tenant is a seasonal tenant and there is no provisions for extension or renewal of rental agreement*
No statutory limit
*Specific restrictions apply; please see Rhode Island’s Landlord Tenant Law for more details
Information Current as of 07/2011
How Can Becoming an ARPOLA Member Help You With Lease Clauses?
- Save money. Buying a state lease from most associations costs $15.95 or more plus most landlords and rental property owners often need additional legal forms that can be $9.95 each.
- Legal Leases and Notices. ARPOLA’s free rental agreements are developed and maintained by US Legal Forms attorneys.
- Save time. No need to search for the best lease at a low price. Join ARPOLA and have complete access to leases for all 50 states that can be edited in Word.
- Join and renew once per year. No need to pay for any leases or per use. Download any lease in any state–it’s included in your membership dues.