Back to Resources>>[/fusion_text][fusion_text]North Carolina rental property owners, landlords and property managers need to use rental agreements and legal notices to follow the North Carolina landlord tenant laws. A free, state-specific North Carolina lease is included in your ARPOLA membership along with the North Carolina legal notices and forms you will use most often. Should you decide to use a different lease, listed below are terms and conditions you should include to help you meet the minimum requirements.
NOTICE PERIOD TO TERMINATE TENANCY:
RENT INCREASE NOTICE:
No statutory limit
SECURITY DEPOSIT LIMITS:
One and ½ months’ rent if using a month-to-month rental agreement
Two months’ rent if term if term is longer than two months; may add an additional “reasonable” non-refundable pet deposit
NOTICE PERIOD FOR TERMINATION FOR NONPAYMENT:
NOTICE PERIOD FOR TERMINATION FOR LEASE VIOLATION:
No limit; landlord can terminate with an Unconditional Quit if lease provides
NOTICE FOR UNCONDITIONAL QUIT:
Immediately if violation of lease term specifies that eviction will result from non-compliance or holdover of tenancy
Late fees cannot be higher than$15 or %% of the rental payment, whichever is greater and may not be imposed until rent is 5 days late
Information Current as of 07/2011
How Can Becoming an ARPOLA Member Help You With Lease Clauses?
- Save money. Buying a state lease from most associations costs $15.95 or more plus most landlords and rental property owners often need additional legal forms that can be $9.95 each.
- Legal Leases and Notices. ARPOLA’s free rental agreements are developed and maintained by US Legal Forms attorneys.
- Save time. No need to search for the best lease at a low price. Join ARPOLA and have complete access to leases for all 50 states that can be edited in Word.
- Join and renew once per year. No need to pay for any leases or per use. Download any lease in any state–it’s included in your membership dues.