New Jersey rental property owners, landlords and property managers need to use rental agreements and legal notices to follow the New Jersey landlord tenant laws. A free, state-specific New Jersey lease is included in your ARPOLA membership along with the New Jersey legal notices and forms you will use most often. Should you decide to use a different lease, listed below are terms and conditions you should include to help you meet the minimum requirements.
NOTICE PERIOD TO TERMINATE TENANCY:
RENT INCREASE NOTICE:
SECURITY DEPOSIT LIMITS:
One and ½ months’ rent and additional security deposit, collect annually, may be no greater than 10% of the current security deposit
NOTICE PERIOD FOR TERMINATION FOR NONPAYMENT:
30 days and landlord must accept rent and costs any time up to the day of the trial
NOTICE PERIOD FOR TERMINATION FOR LEASE VIOLATION:
3 days lease must specify which violations will result in eviction
NOTICE FOR UNCONDITIONAL QUIT:
Landlord must wait 5 days before charging a late fee but only if the tenant receives any form of government pensions
*See specific restrictions in the New Jersey landlord tenant act
Information Current as of 07/2011
How Can Becoming an ARPOLA Member Help You With Lease Clauses?
- Save money. Buying a state lease from most associations costs $15.95 or more plus most landlords and rental property owners often need additional legal forms that can be $9.95 each.
- Legal Leases and Notices. ARPOLA’s free rental agreements are developed and maintained by US Legal Forms attorneys.
- Save time. No need to search for the best lease at a low price. Join ARPOLA and have complete access to leases for all 50 states that can be edited in Word.
- Join and renew once per year. No need to pay for any leases or per use. Download any lease in any state–it’s included in your membership dues.