Massachusetts rental property owners, landlords and property managers need to use rental agreements and legal notices to follow the Massachusetts landlord tenant laws. A free, state-specific Massachusetts lease is included in your ARPOLA membership along with the Massachusetts legal notices and forms you will use most often. Should you decide to use a different lease, listed below are terms and conditions you should include to help you meet the minimum requirements.
NOTICE TO CHANGE OR TERMINATE A MONTH TO MONTH TENANCY:
Interval between days of payment or 30 days, whichever is longer
SECURITY DEPOSIT LIMIT:
One month’s rent
NOTICE PERIOD FOR TERMINATION FOR NONPAYMENT:
If not addressed in the agreement, 14 days
NOTICE PERIOD FOR TERMINATION FOR LEASE VIOLATION:
Landlord can terminate with an Unconditional Quit notice
NOTICE FOR UNCONDITIONAL QUIT:
14 days for a tenant at will receiving a second notice to pay rent or quit within 12 months
Late fees, including interest on late rent, may not be imposed until the rent is 30 days late
Information current as of 02/2011
How Can Becoming an ARPOLA Member Help You With Lease Clauses?
- Save money. Buying a state lease from most associations costs $15.95 or more plus most landlords and rental property owners often need additional legal forms that can be $9.95 each.
- Legal Leases and Notices. ARPOLA’s free rental agreements are developed and maintained by US Legal Forms attorneys.
- Save time. No need to search for the best lease at a low price. Join ARPOLA and have complete access to leases for all 50 states that can be edited in Word.
- Join and renew once per year. No need to pay for any leases or per use. Download any lease in any state–it’s included in your membership dues.