Maryland rental property owners, landlords and property managers need to use rental agreements and legal notices to follow the Maryland landlord tenant laws. A free, state-specific Maryland lease is included in your ARPOLA membership along with the Maryland legal notices and forms you will use most often. Should you decide to use a different lease, listed below are terms and conditions you should include to help you meet the minimum requirements.
NOTICE PERIOD TO TERMINATE TENANCY:
1 month (2 months’ notice in Montgomery County and Baltimore City)
RENT INCREASE NOTICE:
SECURITY DEPOSIT LIMITS:
2 months’ rent
NOTICE PERIOD FOR TERMINATION FOR NONPAYMENT:
Can file immediately; must give 5 days’ notice to appear in court, if tenant doesn’t pay and landlord wins the tenant has 4 days to vacate; if tenant pays back rent and all court costs tenant can stay
NOTICE PERIOD FOR TERMINATION FOR LEASE VIOLATION:
30 days unless the breach poses immediate danger than 14 days (no cure)
NOTICE FOR UNCONDITIONAL QUIT:
14 days—if tenant poses immediate danger to himself, the landlord, other tenants or property
30—Any lease violation if the lease states that the tenancy can be terminated for the violation and when tenant is late with rent 3 times in 12 months but the landlord must have won the eviction lawsuit for each prior nonpayment of rent episode
Late fees cannot exceed 5% of rent due
Information Current as of 07/2011
How Can Becoming an ARPOLA Member Help You With Lease Clauses?
- Save money. Buying a state lease from most associations costs $15.95 or more plus most landlords and rental property owners often need additional legal forms that can be $9.95 each.
- Legal Leases and Notices. ARPOLA’s free rental agreements are developed and maintained by US Legal Forms attorneys.
- Save time. No need to search for the best lease at a low price. Join ARPOLA and have complete access to leases for all 50 states that can be edited in Word.
- Join and renew once per year. No need to pay for any leases or per use. Download any lease in any state–it’s included in your membership dues.