If you want to show your rental property for sale and your tenant says ‘no’ what do you do next? Each week veteran landlord and property manager Hank Rossi answers questions from other landlords and property managers around the country about their rentals.
Here is this week’s question:
Dear Landlord Hank:
Have you made an inquiry into the new Oregon Rent Control? My question is a tenant has lived in a place 12 years and the landlord wants to sell and gave the tenant a 90-day notice but now the tenant does not want the property shown. I realize there is a 24-hour notice law that has to be done in writing. But what if the tenant says NO??? Would the landlord then give a 30-day eviction notice? Failure to comply with rental documents? I have not seen the rental documents to know what if sale or for rent clause. I am a real estate broker asking for the tenant. Thank you.
Yes, I read about Oregon’s statewide rent control and limiting rent increase to 7% per year + inflation.
Is there a current lease in place?
What does the lease stipulate about showings?
Many leases allow the unit to be shown at any time, with notice to the tenant. So if the tenant refuses to allow entry, the tenant is violating the lease.
Best to consult an attorney, in your area, conversant with landlord-tenant law.
Other recent posts you may have missed: